Viet Thanh Nguyen (2008) The MacArthur Foundation announced its annual no-strings-attached, $625,000 fellowships. The lineup includes Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Viet Thanh Nguyen. Read the full LA Times article

Lenora Lee (2013) Light by Lenora Lee & Tatsu Aoki was awarded Best Experimental Film at the Canada International Film Festival Inspired by the life of Bessie M. Lee (1894 - 1955), who, after migrating to New York City, spent two years in indentured servitude, Light is a film in which dance, memory, music and poetry collide in a visual and aural landscape; a meditation on women being propelled into the unknown by courage and faith to risk their lives and everything they have for freedom. United States | 2017 | 57 min Film excerpts and interview

Camille Dungy (2014) received one of 36 Creative Writing Fellowships for $25,000 from the NEA. Since 1967, the NEA has awarded more than 3,400 Creative Writing Fellowships worth $46 million. Many American recipients of the National Book Award, National Book Critics Circle Award, and Pulitzer Prize in Poetry and Fiction were recipients of NEA fellowships early in their careers. Full list of 2018 Creative Writing Fellowship recipients

Fawzia Mirza (2018) writer/director, and Terrie Samundra, producer/cowriter, were awarded a $22,000 SFFILM Rainin Filmmaking Grant to produce Me, My Mom and Sharmila Me, My Mom & Sharmila explores the intersection of identity, family & being South Asian in pre/post partition India, 60's Pakistan, and now in North America. See the full SFFILM Grant recipient list

Rodney Sharman (2014) Vancouver composer Rodney Sharman won the Canada Council for the Arts' Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts. The $50,000 prize recognizes the highest level of artistic excellence and distinguished career achievements by a Canadian professional artist in music, theatre, or dance. Read the full announcement

Belle Ancell

Kenneth Rainin Foundation grant recipients announced The Kenneth Rainin Foundation has awarded $250,000 in arts grants to 16 small and mid-size Bay Area organizations through its New and Experimental Works (NEW) Program. ($5,000) for Mother Sister Daughter - Christy Funsch (2006 + 2012), ($10,000) for Beneath The Surface - Lenora Lee (2013), ($9,000) for In Branau - Dipika Guha (2012), ($20,000) for Left to Her Own Devices: 20 years of Sculpture in Motion - Jodi Lomask (2014), ($15,000) for freedom - Keith Hennessy (2010 + winter 2014), ($20,000) for TheaterTheater - Erika Chong Such (2007 + winters 2009 and 2011), ($15,000) for Stay Close - Joe Goode (1991), ($15,000) for The Legacy of Ephemerality (On the Occasion of our Eviction and 25th Anniversary) - Scott Wells (1996) See the full list

Peter Walter (2017) Biochemist and sculptor Peter Walter (2017) was presented with the 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences. Peter was here for Scientific Delirium Madness 4.0 and demonstrated his skills at Open House. One of his sculptures now graces our property. Learn more

Photo: Elisabeth Fall

CCS Architecture Diane Middlebrook Studios wins 2017 SARA Jury's Award of Distinction. Cass Calder Smith serves as the Past Chair on the Djerassi Program's Board of Trustees.

Marco Buongiorno Nardelli (2017) Marco was awarded a residency at IMeRA-PRISM in Marseille (France), as guest researcher. He will carry out the project "BEAUTIFUL DATA: FROM VIRTUAL NAVIGATION OF LARGE DATA SPACES TO A POST-SONIFICATION ESTHETICS” Learn more

Susan Cummins Miller (2002) will be a writer-in-residence for Pima County Public Libraries through April 2018. A complete list of workshops and consultations is available on her website Learn more

Allison Akootchook Warden (2017) received a 2018 National Artist Fellowship in the discipline of music. Learn more

France-Luce Benson (2017) is a grand prize winner of the Fifteenth Annual American Zoetrope Screenplay Contest for her work on Caroline's Wedding with Easmanie Michel and Darcy Miller. More than 1600 entries were received See the full list here

Ayad Akhar (2015) wins Kennedy Prize for Drama Inspired by American History Read the New York Times article here

Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich (2016) is a Lambda Literary Award Finalist. See the full list here

Camille T. Dungy (2014) Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys Into Race, Motherhood, and History by Camille T. Dungy is a contender for the National Book Critics Circle criticism award. Learn more here

Michael Harrison (2013) was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for 2018 in the field of Music Composition. Harrison will be creating a new work for Alarm Will Sound. He is currently working on a commission for Del Sol Quartet, based in San Francisco. Learn more here